How to make Irish PS2 work in Canada - Fandom Forums
Fandom Forums



Go Back   Fandom Forums > Indepth Interests > Gaming

Gaming Talk about your favorite video and pc games and console in this section!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2005, 10:57 AM   #1
Teny
Hunter-Nin
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada
Age: 23
Posts: 1,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Teny is an unknown quantity at this point
How to make Irish PS2 work in Canada

Ok, so I got my games and consoles in Ireland, and sine I came here none of them have been working except my GBA.
BUt the thing about it is that I mean I have n clue how to make my ps2 work here, the plugs are different, and then like the other problem that I have is umm..
Yeah, my games don't work on the consoles here, so what do I do to make my Ps2 work here in Canada?
__________________



These are Jamie-chans moves, not for yoouu
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 12-03-2005, 11:09 AM   #2
goku100
I own j00!
 
goku100's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: London, UK
Age: 23
Posts: 5,159
Thanks: 21
Thanked 22 Times in 18 Posts
goku100 will become famous soon enoughgoku100 will become famous soon enough
I think you may need to get a plug onverter first, which converts the ps2 plug into the canadian one which you can then plug into the socket...
__________________
[CENTER][url=http://www.wiitalk.co.uk/forums/wiitag.php][img]http://www.wiigo.co.uk/tag/t/w09939494.gif[/img][/url][/CENTER]
[CENTER][IMG]http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b310/Perpetualdesignz/6n6wazere.gif[/IMG][/CENTER]
goku100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 04:25 PM   #3
Mal
Scotch
 
Mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,090
Thanks: 12,723
Thanked 10,818 Times in 3,844 Posts
Mal is a glorious beacon of lightMal is a glorious beacon of lightMal is a glorious beacon of lightMal is a glorious beacon of lightMal is a glorious beacon of lightMal is a glorious beacon of lightMal is a glorious beacon of lightMal is a glorious beacon of lightMal is a glorious beacon of light
Even if you get it working the disc encoding is entirely different. As I said in the "ff7" thread, you're not going to get your games working here unless you rip apart your PS2 and figure out some way of changing the regional coding that it reads.
Mal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 08:20 PM   #4
[Daisuke]
Eeeek!
 
[Daisuke]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: *Insert witty location comment here*
Posts: 1,353
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
[Daisuke] is an unknown quantity at this point
not entirely true. If you bought both the games and consoles in the same country, then they shoudl work together, all you need is a compatible tv and power cable for it to do so. you're going to have to import games if you want new ones though, as the PAL and NTSC encoded ones are designed for corperate gits to get shitloads of money.
__________________
I got my milky bar... ='D
[Daisuke] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 10:19 PM   #5
Teny
Hunter-Nin
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada
Age: 23
Posts: 1,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Teny is an unknown quantity at this point
Lol, true.
I spend a month of last summer, going 'PAL to NTSC voltage converter"
to all sorts of shops.
Now I do understand you, but the thing is I don't know where to get a compatible tv, and it makes a whole lot of sense right? I mean.. Wait..
I understand if I can't get audio and video on a tv here.
BUt I do have a socket changer, that allows me to plug my Ps2 plug into that and then into the wall, but I get nothing.
Do need to wait for sometime or what?
__________________



These are Jamie-chans moves, not for yoouu
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 11:26 PM   #6
Mal
Scotch
 
Mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,090
Thanks: 12,723
Thanked 10,818 Times in 3,844 Posts
Mal is a glorious beacon of lightMal is a glorious beacon of lightMal is a glorious beacon of lightMal is a glorious beacon of lightMal is a glorious beacon of lightMal is a glorious beacon of lightMal is a glorious beacon of lightMal is a glorious beacon of lightMal is a glorious beacon of light
Quote:
Originally Posted by [Daisuke]
not entirely true. If you bought both the games and consoles in the same country, then they shoudl work together, all you need is a compatible tv and power cable for it to do so.
From my understanding of his post, he's trying to play his games from Ireland on North American PS2s.
Mal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2005, 10:46 AM   #7
Teny
Hunter-Nin
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada
Age: 23
Posts: 1,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Teny is an unknown quantity at this point
Uh.. No sorry.
I moved to Canada last year, and I've tried numerous times to get my console and agmes(both from Ireland) to work here, but they don't.
Now I do have an adapter to allow me to plug the Ps2 into the wall. but the problem is that the red light never appears.
__________________



These are Jamie-chans moves, not for yoouu
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2005, 01:50 PM   #8
Mal
Scotch
 
Mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,090
Thanks: 12,723
Thanked 10,818 Times in 3,844 Posts
Mal is a glorious beacon of lightMal is a glorious beacon of lightMal is a glorious beacon of lightMal is a glorious beacon of lightMal is a glorious beacon of lightMal is a glorious beacon of lightMal is a glorious beacon of lightMal is a glorious beacon of lightMal is a glorious beacon of light
Well then I've got no idea. If the adaptor's not working then I'm stumped.
Mal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2005, 04:13 PM   #9
Teny
Hunter-Nin
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada
Age: 23
Posts: 1,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Teny is an unknown quantity at this point
Hmm..
Well YEAH.. But the thiung is umm is this mewant to be like an expensive one?
Since my dad like got it in one of those like cheap corner Asian shops one day.
I went there again but they were all out.
And I have no idea where to get another one.
But then when i went to this like electronics shop, they said get a PAL to NTSC voltage stabalizer, which is 200 bucks US, which I'd have to get shipped in, and then pay that fee, the extra since it woiuld be converted into Canadian dollars, and then 15% tax.
nuuuuu
__________________



These are Jamie-chans moves, not for yoouu
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 06:14 PM   #10
naruto64
Academy Student
 
naruto64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: the village hidden in the leaves
Age: 22
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
naruto64 is an unknown quantity at this point
your screwd maybe you broke your ps2 while you where trying to get it to work like a short circuit or fried mother board ???
check your plug as well maybe it got damaged what i believe is that something got fried somewhere in that equipment....
__________________
hinata is hot
naruto64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 06:22 PM   #11
OffTheChain
 
OffTheChain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8,963
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
OffTheChain Pure EvilOffTheChain Pure EvilOffTheChain Pure EvilOffTheChain Pure EvilOffTheChain Pure EvilOffTheChain Pure EvilOffTheChain Pure EvilOffTheChain Pure EvilOffTheChain Pure EvilOffTheChain Pure EvilOffTheChain Pure Evil
When I got a game from america it didnt work on my PAL ps2 because it was a different region CD NTS...something....I wish I could get it to work though -_-
OffTheChain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 10:27 PM   #12
typhoon_4434
Missing-Nin
 
typhoon_4434's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Taking Gaara back to the Akatsuki
Age: 23
Posts: 2,506
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
typhoon_4434 is infamous around these partstyphoon_4434 is infamous around these partstyphoon_4434 is infamous around these partstyphoon_4434 is infamous around these partstyphoon_4434 is infamous around these partstyphoon_4434 is infamous around these partstyphoon_4434 is infamous around these partstyphoon_4434 is infamous around these partstyphoon_4434 is infamous around these parts
maybe if you sold your PS2 on ebay
or to a pawn shop
you may get enough to buy another
typhoon_4434 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 02:41 PM   #13
Teny
Hunter-Nin
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada
Age: 23
Posts: 1,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Teny is an unknown quantity at this point
Not looking to get another one, yo Chain!
You're in the UK, man if you came to America or Canada your PS2 wouldn't work here, but yeah like mune doesn't work ehre but I went to the SONY STORE in Pickering Town Centre.
They said find a smaller electical store and you might be able to get it to work since it shouldn't be a problem, they should work on the NTSC system tvs here but you need a decent voltage converter.
o_o
I thin that the new Xbox comes with this one.
Xd
but yeah like anyway, this is what I need to do, a decent PAL to NTSC voltage converter, the one I have is ghey.
XD
__________________



These are Jamie-chans moves, not for yoouu
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 06:52 PM   #14
Teny
Hunter-Nin
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada
Age: 23
Posts: 1,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Teny is an unknown quantity at this point
Does anyone know where I can get stuff?
To make this PS2 work?
__________________



These are Jamie-chans moves, not for yoouu
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 06:55 PM   #15
Khari
Gyokunyo
 
Khari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: You want it?
Age: 22
Posts: 1,483
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Khari is infamous around these partsKhari is infamous around these parts
.......a converter O_o?
__________________
DSM'S Numer One Roomate
Khari is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do i make pics? Zapper0 Computers 1 10-14-2005 07:59 AM
Anyone Want Me To Make Them A Banner?? (Anyone Interseted?) hinata_kiba Requests 21 06-22-2005 03:53 PM
Hey wanna make me a banner? Roy Mustang Requests 12 04-03-2005 02:57 PM
Dai might offer to make some sigs [Daisuke] Requests 0 03-18-2005 08:58 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.